Technology

When Is The Game Awards 2022?

What time is The Game Awards 2022? It’s almost that time of year again, when Geoff Keighley takes the stage to end the year with one last show. Consisting of numerous awards presented to the best talent of the year and several trailers and announcements for 2023 and beyond, The game prizes always makes a nice splash just before the holidays. It will be streaming globally in the very near future, but what are all the details? What are the dates and times? Which games are shown? In this guide, we try to tell you everything you need to know.

When are the Game Awards 2022?

What date and time does The Game Awards start? The Game Awards 2022 will take place on Thursday December 8, and will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. Below is the start time for each time zone:

  • North America: 4:30 PM PST / 5:30 PM MST / 6:30 PM CST / 7:30 PM EST
  • UK/Ireland: 00:30 GMT
  • Europe: 01:30 CET / 02:30 EAT
  • Asia/Oceania: 9:30 AM JST / 8:30 AM AWST / 11:30 AM AEDT

Note: For those in the UK, Europe, Asia and Australia, the show technically goes out on Friday, December 9. If you plan to watch live, it’s best to get a coffee.

Where can you watch The Game Awards 2022?

The Game Awards will be streamed live on virtually every major social platform. However, the easiest way to watch is via YouTube or Twitch via the respective links. We will also be hosting a live blog of the event here at Push Square. Watch with us and the community! Don’t worry if you can’t watch the show live – we’ll post all relevant news on the homepage as soon as possible.

How long will the Game Awards 2022 be?

No running time has been confirmed for this year’s Game Awards, but you should expect it to be quite long. Last year’s show was about three and a half hours including the pre-show, so we can assume it will be about the same this year. Have three hours worth of snacks!

Which games are nominated for The Game Awards 2022?

The Game Awards 2022, as the name suggests, is an awards ceremony, recognizing the biggest and best games of the year and more across numerous categories. During the show, we’ll see many of the winners announced on stage, punctuated by musical performances and trailers for upcoming titles. Which games are nominated for these awards?

Up for Game of the Year are games you’d expect: Elden Ring, God of War Ragnarok and Horizon Forbidden West compete for the top gong, alongside Stray, Xenoblade Chronicles 3 and A Plague Tale: Requiem. However, those first three are nominated in most categories, so we expect each to take home at least a few wins. Other highly nominated games include Sifu, Gran Turismo 7 and Immortality. Click here for more information.

If you would like to cast your vote in each category, you can do so through the official Game Awards website.

Which games will be shown or announced at The Game Awards 2022?

At this point, we don’t know anything official about what could be announced at The Game Awards 2022. However, as always, there are some rumors floating around and some educated guesses we can make leading up to the big day.

We’ve heard murmurs about a new Crash Bandicoot game popping up on Geoff’s show, possibly a multiplayer game called Wumpa League. This one looks like a lock, as the first tease came from an official PR package.

Elsewhere, reliable reporter Jeff Grubb has suggested that Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, the sequel to Fallen Order, may be getting a release date at The Game Awards. Likewise, Final Fantasy XVI is also rumored to have a set date during the show.

That’s about it for now, but we’ll update this page as soon as news about The Game Awards 2022 comes out.


Excited to see The Game Awards 2022? Which games do you think will take home a trophy? What will Geoff Keighley’s trainers look like this time around? Discuss in the comments below.

Previous post
How the stars are celebrating Thanksgiving 2022
Next post
So You Told Your Family To Invest In Bitcoin, Dogecoin And Ethereum At Thanksgiving Last Year? Here’s How Much They Now Have (And Why You Might Be Eating Alone) – Bitcoin (BTC/USD)